Fall Sports Tryout Information 2019

 

 

2019 Fall Sports Tryout Information

The first day of the fall sports season is Wednesday, August 14, 2019.

Please note that MCPS has transitioned to an ONLINE registration process for athletics.

Parents will need to register students online through the myMCPS Parent Portal. The Fall 2019 registration window opened on July 15th. Parents that need login information may contact Mr. Reggie Spears, Athletic Director.

The MCPS memo on Fall 2019 online registration should be reviewed  –  Letter – myMCPS Fall 2019 Online Registration for Athletics

http://www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/departments/athletic

FREE SPORTS PHYSICALS FOR FALL SPORTS!!!  July 29th and July 30th!!!

WATKINS MILL HIGH SCHOOL HEALTH AND WELLNESS CENTER

SIGN UP BY CALLING 240-777-4601 FOR AN APPOINTMENT

**PHYSICALS CAN NOT BE CONDUCTED UNLESS SPORTS HEALTH INVENTORY FORM IS COMPLETED AND SIGNED BY PARENT**

 

Cross Country – Cross Country will meet on the track at 8 am on August 14th.  Please email Coach Kelly Hoffman for details on summer conditioning.  Please follow @WatkinsMill_XC on Twitter for summer workout schedule

Coach: Kelly Hoffman   Kelly_K_Hoffman@mcpsmd.org

Boys Varsity and JV Soccer – The boys’ soccer team will have workouts every Tuesday and Thursday from 6-8pm on the lower practice fields.  We will start workouts during the first week of July.  The first tryouts will be August 14th from 8-11am.  Online registration must be completed in order to tryout.

Coach: Josh Halper Halper Joshua_T_Halper@mcpsmd.org (Varsity)

Coach: Bryan Lanham Bryan_R_Lanham@mcpsmd.org (JV)

 Girls Varsity and JV Soccer – Girls soccer will have ball work every Wednesday in July, starting July 11th from 6pm-8pm on the field next to the tennis courts, bring a soccer ball, cleats, shin guards and plenty of water.  All Paperwork is done online. The first day of tryouts will be August 14th from 8 am to 12 pm on the baseball outfield.

Coach: Jeremy Harris Jeremy_Harris@mcpsmd.org (Varsity)

Coach: Sylvia Lake Sylvia_R_Lake@mcpsmd.org (JV)

Girls Volleyball –   Tryouts are August 14th- 20th from 9:00 am  – 12:00 pm (not including Saturday and Sunday) in the main gym.  Varsity cuts will be made Friday, and JV cuts will be made the following Tuesday.

Coach: Kauri Martin (Varsity) Kauri_V_Martin@mcpsmd.org

Coach:  Alexa Burns (JV)  Alexa_T_Burns@mcpsmd.org

Field Hockey –Field Hockey tryouts will be from 8-11 am on August 14th, 2018 at the lower field next to the softball field behind the school.

Coach: Melissa Brigham Melissa_Brigham@mcpsmd.org (Varsity)

Coach: Erin Yates  Erin_M_Yates@mcpsmd.org (JV)

Football – The Varsity and JV football teams will meet to collect paperwork and distribute equipment on August 7th at 10 am Varsity only and August 8th 10 am JV only.  All football participants should report to the boys’ locker room and enter from the rear of the building. Online registration must be completed and verified in order to receive equipment. The first day of practice will be held on August 14th at 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM.

Coach: Mike Brown Michael_C_Brown@mcpsmd.org (Varsity)

Coach: Ronald Fletcher Ronald_Fletcher@mcpsmd.org  (JV)

Cheerleading –

Cheer will begin on August 14th in gym 2 (small gym).  Cheer clinics in preparation for tryouts will be held on August 14th from 2 pm – 4 pm and August 15th from 12:30 pm – 2:30 pm.  August 16th will be the official tryouts for the cheer season from 5 pm – 7 pm.  Please contact Coach Keller if you have questions.

Coach: Savonna Keller Savonna_A_Keller@mcpsmd.org

Poms – Poms tryouts will begin on August 14th. You must have a completed physical on file before tryouts and registered online. Check out our Instagram for further updates on location and times @watkinsmill.poms!  Summer workouts will be held on Monday and Thursday at 4:30 pm on 7/22, 7/25, 7/29, and 8/1.  Come to workouts to help prepare for tryouts.  Check out Instagram for further updates @watkinsmill.poms

Coach: Terchrisha Lawrence Terchrisha_M_Lawrence@mcpsmd.org

Golf – Golf tryouts will begin Tuesday, August 20th at 2:30 pm at Laytonsville Golf Course.  Please contact Coach Riley if you have any questions at 301-639-1835.

Coach: Richard Riley Richard_D_Riley@mcpsmd.org

Please visit www.watkinsmillathletics.com for updated/revised tryout information and follow on Twitter @TheMillSports

 

****ALL ATHLETES MUST HAVE A VALID PHYSICAL TO PARTICIPATE IN INTERSCHOLASTIC HIGH SCHOOL SPORTS.  NO EXCEPTIONS.****